top of page

Inspiration of Love 01


[from: IT IS LOVE AND GOODNESS THAT TRANSFORM, NOT WRATH series]

5-year old Johnny was in the kitchen as his mother made supper. She asked him to go into the pantry and get her a can of tomato soup, but he didn't want to go in alone. "It's dark in there and I'm scared." She asked again, and he persisted. Finally she said, "It's OK--Jesus will be in there with you." Johnny walked hesitantly to the door and slowly opened it. He peeked inside, saw it was dark, and started to leave when all at once an idea came, and he said: "Jesus, if you're in there, would you hand me that can of tomato soup?"

- Charles Allen, Victory in the Valleys.

These are innocent truths that we sometimes believe are only for children. And we are right. There are truths for God's children. Literally, Jesus is with us in Spirit wherever we go, even into the darkest places. It is imperative that we learn how to trust God no matter the darkness we face; whether in plenty or need, in health or sickness, having woken up on the wrong or right side of the bed.

Why is this?

Because God is love (1 Jn 4:8, 16). He has our best interest in mind. He sent his only begotten son so we would not perish but have everlasting life (Jn 3:16-17). It was the resurrected Jesus that said, "... and Lo, I am with thee, even to the end of the age" (Mt 28:20). The promise is closeness so near that the Christian can claim: "Jesus Christ lives in me!" (Gal 2:20) With Christ as near as this, who could think that our spiritual Father desires anything but the deepest personal relationship?

So we need to make a clear distinction between a reverent, awe-inspiring fear of the Father and a terrifying fear (Prov 1:7; 9:10; Mt 10:28; Heb 10:26-27). To think that God is an abusive parent that administers inappropriate or unjust discipline on a whim is ridiculous and a heresy. Let's not forget Romans 8:1, "Therefore, now, there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus." Where is the fear of wrath in that verse? Nowhere. I am not scared of my Father. He has made promises to me in Christ that he will keep no matter how awful an interpretation of the scriptures man can conjure. God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through the Lord Jesus Christ (1 Thess 5:9).

God has my best interest at heart! Therefore I walk in this dark world knowing He will never abandon or forsake me (Heb 13:5; Deut 31:6). Wherever I go, he is there.

God loves me! I don't love because I am afraid of God's wrath, I love because he first loved me (1 Jn 4:19). This truth must be at the forefront of every Christian's mind and embedded deeply in the heart. It is divine love that inspires me to live for God, not wrath. Because God is good to me (even in dark times an through dark experiences), I can go anywhere and face any fear.

Sing the song "If Jesus Goes With Me" right now!

http://library.timelesstruths.org/music/If_Jesus_Goes_with_Me/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page