top of page

When a Brother or Sister Sins Against You


15 “If your brother or sister[a] sins,[b] go and point out their fault, just between the two of you. If they listen to you, you have won them over.16 But if they will not listen, take one or two others along, so that ‘every matter may be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.’[c]17 If they still refuse to listen, tell it to the church; and if they refuse to listen even to the church, treat them as you would a pagan or a tax collector. Matthew 18:15-17
Footnotes:
  1. Matthew 18:15 The Greek word for brother or sister (adelphos) refers here to a fellow disciple, whether man or woman; also in verses 21 and 35.

  2. Matthew 18:15 Some manuscripts sins against you

  3. Matthew 18:16 Deuteronomy 19:15

A big thanks to Biblegateway.com for the above scripture and footnotes.

So, what do you do when someone at church offends you or sins against you? Truthfully, my reaction often is, and most of us, I think, is to get mad. Then tell them off, or worse, go and tell others what so and so has done to us.

I believe that if we take a good look at Jesus' teaching on the subject, as in the scripture above, we will see that to do so is not following his teaching.

It is, I think you will agree, more than just advise. Jesus, the Lord of lords, spoke with authority. When he speaks, we should listen.

So, when I find that my actions are not lining up with his will, whether in the above instructions, or any others for that matter, if I really want to be his disciple, then I have to give up my way in favor of his way. Do you think that is a fair assessment?

Let me also mention this. Often, not always, but often is the case, that there has simply been a misunderstanding. That's why I need to speak to the one who has offended me, whenever possible, face to face. Matthew 18:15

In the Inductive Study Bible, released by Precept Ministries, Kay Arthur shares three things we should ask when studying the Bible:

1. What does it say?

2. What does it mean?

3. What does it mean to me?

These are fair minded questions and practical for Bible Study. If I want to understand God's will for my life, asking these three questions, with the guidance of his Spirit, will show us how to live a life that pleases him. That starts with how we interact with one another.

Further reading: Romans 12:9-21; Ephesians 4:20-32


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page